SLaLS Recognized at Service Excellence Awards


Each year, Service Excellence Awards are presented to recognize the outstanding contributions that faculty and staff make at Carleton University. On February 22, 2024 the 2023 Service Excellence Award nominees and recipients were recognized at the annual celebration.

We are excited to share that SLaLS faculty, contract instructors, and staff were nominated for a Team Service Excellence Award. Read some of the notes from the nomination below.

“The School of Linguistics and Language Studies is not just an academic institution; it is a thriving community where service excellence is the norm, not the exception.”

“In essence, the team at the School of Linguistics and Language Studies has redefined my understanding of what an academic institution can achieve in terms of service and support. Their impact extends beyond academic success; they have played a pivotal role in shaping a positive and enriching phase of my life, for which I am immensely grateful.”

A few members of the SLaLS team also received Individual Service Excellence Award nominations.

Congratulations to Laura Barrow (School Administrator), Denise DeShaw (ASL Coordinator), and Geoffrey Pinchbeck (Associate Professor, ALDS) for receiving individual nominations.

“I was so happy to see the three individuals from across SLaLS nominated for individual awards,” shares Michael Rodgers, Director of the School of Linguistics and Language Studies. “They each add something special to the school and it was great to see that acknowledged on the university-wide stage.”

“There was an extra special layer to the event with the nomination of the whole school for an award – seeing all the names from the school up on the wall of nominees reminded me of how the efforts of so many go into creating a school worthy of recognition and note within Carleton.”

This is not the first time our dedicated faculty, contract instructors, and staff have been nominated for a Service Excellence Award.

Mike Barker, our CALL Consulting Analyst, was awarded the 2018 Individual Service Excellence Award. In 2019, the administrative team, made up of Joan Grant, Connie Wall, and Tracey Wright at the time, were nominated for a Team Service Excellence Award, while ASL instructor Ryan Hardy was nominated for an Individual Service Excellence Award. In 2022, Joan Grant received another nomination for Individual Service Excellence Award, as did PhD student and contract instructor Mastoor Al Kaboody.

Congratulations to all 2023 Service Excellence Award nominees and recipients! The list of nominees can be found here, and the award recipients are listed here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *